« return to albums list

Davy Mooney

[ Catalogue number : LSR02 ]

 Available at :   - Click the name of the store below

Downloads: Amazon MP3, iTunes [ U.S., Japan, Australia/N.Z, Canada, UK/European Union ],

Discs: Amazon , NorthCountry Distributor (info@ncdsales.com or larry@ncdsales.com)

* There are two versions of mastering for "Downloads". ( New York version and Tokyo version-"remaster")


Davy Mooney's debut CD for LateSet Records is a true mixture of New Orleans and New York. Mooney, a New Orleans native, has assembled a cast of musicians with ties to both cities and let them loose on a program of original tunes that attempt to harness the raw energy of the Big Easy and the sophisticated grooves of the Big Apple into a joyful set of music that swings, grooves, and challenges the listener come along for the journey.
Mooney's 7-String guitar stylings are wedded to the powerful drumming of New Orleans native Simon Lott and the brilliant melodicism of New Yorkers John Ellis and Matt Clohesy, along with the warm and adventurous Hammond B-3 organ sound of New Orleanian Brian Coogan. Together, they bring to "Astoriano" an emotional rawness and honesty that will make you feel like you were there in the studio with the musicians as they poured out their souls on that June afternoon in Brooklyn."


Davy Mooney, a seven-string guitarist and composer, was born and raised in New Orleans. There he was given the opportunity to perform and study with many jazz greats and to be part of the Louis Armstrong Quintet for 2 years. Davy participated in the 2005 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Guitar Competition and placed third overall. After Hurricane Katrina, he moved to New York City and recorded his album “Astoriano.” As if by destiny, he was then chosen to be part of the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz Performance, which brought him back to his hometown of New Orleans from 2007 to 2009. He now again resides in New York City. Davy has mastered his trademark seven-string guitar, an instrument that is rare in the Jazz world. He continues to share the colorful melody lines and chord tones embedded in his brilliant music.


Davy Mooney: 7 String Guitar
John Ellis: Sax (for tracks 01, 04, 05, and 09)
Simon Lott: Drums
Matt Clohesy: Bass (for tracks 01, 02, 04, 05, 08, and 10)
Brian Coogan: Organ (for tracks 03, 07, 09, and 11)


Produced By Davy Mooney and Atsuo Nitta (Saphaia Productions)


01  Wrinkles
02  Countdown
03  Astoriano
04  Prospectin'
05  Satan Doll
06  I Will Wait for You
07  Moon Song
08  The Simple Life
09  In This Balance of Time
10  A Girl For All Seasons
11  The Hills of Earth (Charybdis Slope)

All Songs are arranged and written by Davy Mooney (ASCAP) except Countdown written by John Coltrane and I Will Wait for You written by Michel Legrand, Norman Gimbel, and Jacques Demy